Riding on Raina’s blistering knock, Chennai got their campaign in the T20 event back on track as they had just one win from five matches before coming to this clash.
The victory was also a sweet revenge for Chennai, who had lost all their matches, including final to Rajasthan in the inaugural edition of the event last year in India.
Raina single-handedly shaped the Chennai innings, taking them to a decent 164 for five after sent in to bat at the SuperSport Park.
They then restricted the defending champions to 126 for nine in 19.3 overs to register their win as Kamran Khan did not come out to bat because of injury.
The defending champions, heavily relying on Yusuf Pathan’s performance, failed to build partnerships and paid the price.
Only Ravinder Jadeja (37) put up some resistance and once Pathan (20) was dismissed their fate was sealed.
Laxmipati Balaji was most successful bowler for Chennai with his impressive 3.3-0-21-4 figures. Albie Morkel (2/21) and Jacob Oram (2/27) took two wickets apiece.

The tournament will now be held between April 18 and May 24, which will feature 59 matches.

IPL organisers took the decision after consultations with the Cricket South Africa Chief Executive Officer Gerald Majola.

“We are thankful for the South African cricket board for their support. We took the decision irrespectives of the costs. The first match of the tournament will be held on April 18,” Modi said in a press conference here.

Modi said the successful hosting of the World Cup Twenty20 tournament worked in favour of the South Africa.

“South Africa had successfully hosted the World Cup Twenty20 tournament. The weather is also more favourable here than England,” Modi added.

The IPL Commissioner believed that it was a hard decision to take IPL out of India.

“It was very unfortunate and hard to take IPL out of India,” he added. The six venues, where matches are scheduled to play, are yet to decide.

Matches would start at 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. IST.

Modi said that he would like to build up its fan base in South Africa.

Earlier in the day, it was decided to give the opportunity to host the second edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) to South Africa.

It was also decided that the tournament would start from April 18, a delay of about one week from the original schedule.

Durban, Cape Town, Bloemfontein, Pretoria, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth are the expected venues for the tournament.

South Africa scored an edge over England as a potential host of the cash-rich event because of its conducive weather in the April-May period.