Riding on Raina’s blistering knock, Chennai got their campaign in the T20 event back on track as they had just one win from five matches before coming to this clash.
The victory was also a sweet revenge for Chennai, who had lost all their matches, including final to Rajasthan in the inaugural edition of the event last year in India.
Raina single-handedly shaped the Chennai innings, taking them to a decent 164 for five after sent in to bat at the SuperSport Park.
They then restricted the defending champions to 126 for nine in 19.3 overs to register their win as Kamran Khan did not come out to bat because of injury.
The defending champions, heavily relying on Yusuf Pathan’s performance, failed to build partnerships and paid the price.
Only Ravinder Jadeja (37) put up some resistance and once Pathan (20) was dismissed their fate was sealed.
Laxmipati Balaji was most successful bowler for Chennai with his impressive 3.3-0-21-4 figures. Albie Morkel (2/21) and Jacob Oram (2/27) took two wickets apiece.

The tournament will now be held between April 18 and May 24, which will feature 59 matches.

IPL organisers took the decision after consultations with the Cricket South Africa Chief Executive Officer Gerald Majola.

“We are thankful for the South African cricket board for their support. We took the decision irrespectives of the costs. The first match of the tournament will be held on April 18,” Modi said in a press conference here.

Modi said the successful hosting of the World Cup Twenty20 tournament worked in favour of the South Africa.

“South Africa had successfully hosted the World Cup Twenty20 tournament. The weather is also more favourable here than England,” Modi added.

The IPL Commissioner believed that it was a hard decision to take IPL out of India.

“It was very unfortunate and hard to take IPL out of India,” he added. The six venues, where matches are scheduled to play, are yet to decide.

Matches would start at 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. IST.

Modi said that he would like to build up its fan base in South Africa.

Earlier in the day, it was decided to give the opportunity to host the second edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) to South Africa.

It was also decided that the tournament would start from April 18, a delay of about one week from the original schedule.

Durban, Cape Town, Bloemfontein, Pretoria, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth are the expected venues for the tournament.

South Africa scored an edge over England as a potential host of the cash-rich event because of its conducive weather in the April-May period.

Shedule of IPL Match..

February 26, 2009

IPL Match Schedule

  • IPL 2009 Starts from 10th April
Date Match Venue Time (IST)
April 10 Rajasthan vs Delhi Jaipur 8pm
April 11 Kolkata vs Hyderabad Kolkata 4pm
April 11 Chennai vs Bangalore Chennai 8pm
April 12 Delhi vs Punjab Delhi 4pm
April 12 Mumbai vs Rajasthan Mumbai 8pm
April 13 Hyderabadvs Chennai Hyderabad 8pm
April 14 Bangalore vs Kolkata Bangalore 8pm
April 15 Punjab vs Mumbai Mohali 8pm
April 16 Hyderabadvs Delhi Hyderabad 4pm
April 16 Chennai vs Rajasthan Chennai 8pm
April 17 Mumbai vs Bangalore Mumbai 8pm
April 18 Punjab vs Hyderabad Mohali 4pm
April 18 Kolkata vs Delhi Kolkata 8pm
April 19 Bangalore vs Rajasthan Bangalore 4pm
April 19 Mumbai vs Chennai Mumbai 8pm
April 20 Kolkata vs Punjab Kolkata 8pm
April 21 Delhi vs Mumbai Delhi 8pm
April 22 Rajasthan vs Hyderabad Jaipur 8pm
April 23 Bangalore vs Bangalore 8pm
April 24 Mumbai vs Kolkata Mumbai 8pm
April 25 Chennai vs Punjab Chennai 4pm
April 25 Delhi vs Bangalore Delhi 8pm
April 26 Hyderabadvs Mumbai Vizag 4pm
April 26 Rajasthan vs Kolkata Jaipur 8pm
April 27 Punjab vs Bangalore Jaipur 8pm
April 28 Mumbai vs Delhi Mumbai 8pm
April 29 Chennai vs Kolkata Chennai 4pm
April 29 Punjab vs Rajasthan Mohali 8pm
April 30 Hyderabadvs Bangalore Vizag 8pm
May 1 Chennai vs Delhi Chennai 8pm
May 2 Mumbai vs Hyderabad Mumbai 4pm
May 2 Kolkata vs Rajasthan Kolkata 8pm
May 3 Bangalore vs Delhi Bangalore 4pm
May 3 Punjab vs Chennai Mohali 8pm
May 4 Hyderabadvs Rajasthan Hyderabad 8pm
May 5 Delhi vs Chennai Delhi 8pm
May 6 Kolkata vs Mumbai Kolkata 4pm
May 6 Rajasthan vs Punjab Jaipur 8pm
May 7 Bangalore vs Hyderabad Bangalore 8pm
May 8 Kolkata vs Chennai Kolkata 8pm
May 9 Punjab vs Delhi Mohali 4pm
May 9 Rajasthan vs Mumbai Jaipur 8pm
May 10 Hyderabadvs Kolkata Hyderabad 8pm
May 11 Delhi vs Rajasthan Delhi 8pm
May 12 Mumbai vs Punjab Mumbai 4pm
May 12 Chennai vs Hyderabad Chennai 8pm
May 13 Kolkata vs Bangalore Kolkata 8pm
May 14 Rajasthan vs Chennai Jaipur 4pm
May 14 Delhi vs Hyderabad Delhi 8pm
May 15 Bangalore vs Mumbai Bangalore 8pm
May 16 Delhi vs Kolkata Delhi 4pm
May 16 Hyderabadvs Punjab Hyderabad 8pm
May 17 Rajasthan vs Bangalore Jaipur 4pm
May 17 Chennai vs Mumbai Chennai 8pm
May 18 Punjab vs Kolkata Mohali 8pm
May 19 Bangalore vs Chennai Bangalore 8pm
May 21 Semi-Final 1 Chennai 8pm
May 22 Semi-Final 2 Chennai 8pm
May 24 FINAL Mumbai 8pm